What exactly are schools looking for when they want your resume as part of your application? I have a resume, the only problem is that I have limited to no work experience in the field I want to go into (currently in my final year of undergrad).... And I'm pretty sure they could probably care less about the mindless part-time jobs I have held over the years, which makes a pretty short resume. Anyways, what sort of things should I include and what should I exclude?

My CV format was

- Name/Contact Info

- Education -- For each school/degree, I included major, thesis supervisor, thesis title

- Research Experience -- For each project, 3 to 5 lines listing what I did and what the main results were

- Publications -- separated peer reviewed articles and conference presentations -- I picked out one presentation per topic instead of listing every single one.

- Scholarships and Awards -- included year, name/funding agency, and dollar value

- Teaching Experience -- For each item, 2-3 lines explaining my duties

- Volunteer Experience -- same as above, only included things I thought were relevant (e.g. volunteering at a science camp, physics student societies etc.)

A resume is usually a summary of a CV, but for most of us at the stage of applying to grad school, our CV is already pretty short, so a summary isn't much different! The above format was for my CV (which is what most schools asked me for). When a resume was required, I reduced the about of text used to describe each entry but didn't really cut out any entries.

Anyways, I'd make sure to include ALL research experience, regardless of field. Just don't include random part-time jobs of course, but if you worked or even just volunteered in a lab or research group at some point, be sure to include it! Make sure you try to emphasize your strengths as best as you can. The last section, volunteer experience, isn't very important I've heard, so you probably wouldn't want to include too many of these.