Eastern Europe/Russia

JohnGalt

Hi,everyone.I was wondering whether anybody can give me some advice concerning doctoral programs in Eastern European/Russian history. My stats are as follows:

I have a 3.4 uGPA and a 3.95 mGPA. Even though my uGPA as not that high, however, the lowest grade that I received for an advanced course was A-.

I scored 322 on GRE (162 Verb./160 Quan.)

I am an expert in Russian,Ukrainian,Belorussian, and I'm advanced in Polish.

The schools that I went to were not top-tier, however the programs were solid enough.

My main problem is the absence of extra-curricular activities. I was working full time throughout all my school years and didn't have a lot of time for internships and such,however, I was on a Dean's List 4 times and stuff like that.

Sincve I am kind of new to Ph.D. stuff, I was wondering whether someone can suggest me any relevant programs or at least tell whether it is worth a try with my stats. Any help will be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Don't worry about the ECs- adcoms don't care. They care more about your research and potential to be a scholar.

Your languages are fantastic compared to many applicants. You are in great shape.

What you do need to do at this point is to figure out what aspect of Eastern European/Russian history that you're interested in studying for the PhD. That should help you figure out which programs to apply to.

Thanks for replying. Actually I was thinking about studying something besides the Cold War and the revolution (these two topics are getting really over-studied). I was always interested in the medieval times (Kievan Rus is not a bad example) or early imperial times (Peter I,Peter II, etc.). If you could point out some programs conneceted to these topics I would be very grateful. By the way, I forgot to mention that I am getting my Master's degree this fall (with a 3.9 GPA). Thanks in advance for making me feel more confident; it does matter a lot in these turbulent days of ours.