Graduate School.. Is it worth it?

hashem32

I've been driven to apply to graduate school. As a May 2012 grad from Rutgers school of engineering with a bachelor's in chemical engineering, I've been looking at a variety of programs. The program most appealing to me is one based in Columbia University.

I graduated with a gpa of 2.8 (my last 2 years gpa of a 3.3) and my gre scores are 160-verbal 168-quant and writing 4.5 with no research experience so I'm assuming my LOR will be less than stellar.. My sophomore year, my grades suffered and finally my senior year I seemed to get back on track with a 3.5 gpa for that year. I recently applied to become a non matriculating student to take courses relevant to the program I wish to get into (as of now im considering whether to take graduate courses in cheme or undergraduate courses in biochem, genetics, and microbio). Also, I'm hoping to find a research position for this semester. My plan was to apply for a Masters in Cheme and perhaps find a way to switch to a phd once admitted (I'm sure after I prove myself). I can write an excellent SOP for this program.

After reviewing graduate admissions for a variety of different schools, people, credentials; I'm feeling as though there's little I can do at this point to gain entrance to a program of my choice.. Am I now an academic black sheep? What more can I possibly do? Do you think that I'm taking these classes in vain?

I'm planning on inquiring to Columbia about their program and contacting the professor personally. I would love to hear any suggestions.

Thanks