Non-traditional MDiv applicant

intransitione

Here's my situation:

I did not grow up in a religious household. At least not initially. Sometime when I was 10 or so, my mom and step-dad began to explore and we hopped from liberal Episcopalian to making 'crusades' to the 700 Club. As a result as far back as age 13, I considered myself an atheist. This was cemented by my maternal grandfather and my father who were ardent atheists. I attended Catholic primary and secondary school as the education was well regarded. Outside of the theology classes in high school, I have no formal training in religious studies save for a few Chinese philosophy courses in undergrad.

My stats:

Sex: Male

Marital Status: Divorced

Undergrad: BS- psychology/pre-medicine

School: Michigan State University

GPA: 3.33; Psych GPA: 3.75

Graduate Degree: Juris Doctor, cum laude

School: Michigan State University

Denomination: ???

I worked as a psychiatric counselor in an inner-city Detroit crisis center for 8 years and loved it and excelled. Subsequent to my JD, I shifted to law and have disliked 95% of it.

I 'found' God about two years ago and within the first year, I felt the calling to go into the Ministry. My business partner and close friend is a pastor of an Assemblies of God church and I love his sermons. However, this AG is not in the US and is far more liberal than what I had experienced in my parents quest. I do not have a home church currently as I travel constantly, but I tend towards the slight left of mainstream.

I keep reading how so many people who are applying to MDiv have ministerial backgrounds and/or significant religious education, either in their academic lives, or within their church. I have neither. This is a 180 degree change for me. My end aspiration would be to pursue a PhD and teach either domestically in the US or abroad. As such, I am concerned about my Mdiv admission chances at some of the more select programs.