Stats Phd or MS in Stats + MBA?

dudelove

Hey guys, this is my first time posting here, so please bear with me:

My background: I have an undergrad in Math from a fairly good state school, and a Masters in Statistics from a top program. Decent GPA at both institutions ~ 3.5.

I worked for a year. It was in a job that I hated, but I rushed into it because I was scared of the job market at the time. After a year of working, I went back for a PhD in Stats. This is a top 50 school, but not a top 20 school... Anyway, it's a few weeks into the semester and I don't think the PhD is for me. I wanted to pursue the degree initially because I thought I wanted to teach and do research, but I'm quickly realizing both of those things are not for me.

Over the past few months I've become interested in business/finance, so my question is:

Do I stick out the PhD for 4, maybe 5 years and wind up somewhere as a quant / hedgefund financial modeler?

Or do I cut my losses quickly, and drop out. I can work for a few years, go for an MBA (I think I'd be able to pull off a top 15 program) and then pursue the same path? This path would save me time and energy that I'd waste pursuing a PhD.

Any advice or feedback is appreciated! Thanks!