PhD in epi from community health

acdelco

Does any one know of anyone who got their MPH in community health/health and social behavior etc. and went on to do their PhD in epi.

Most of the professors who do research I am most interested in are in Epi departments but I got my MPH in Health and Social Behavior. Since getting my MPH in 2011 I've been working as a research analyst, I don't have any published articles but I have a couple abstracts and posters.

MPH GPA: 3.8

GRE: V 163 (91) Q 155 (64%) W 4.5 (73%)

does anyone have any helpful advice on how I could position myself into an Epi department without an Epi MPH? --I could definitely go the social epi route but am just wondering what the chances might be.

thanks!

• 3 months later...

I guess I'm several months late to your question but I'm in a very similar position to yours. I applied to an Epi program and a maternal/child health program because I want to do research in a specific area. The work I hope to do is quantitative and a stronger methods base seems vital. Our "stats" are nearly identical. I'd love to hear if you decided to go for it and how things are going for you. Good luck!

• 4 weeks later...

sorry for the delay on my end also. I ended up applying to a couple Epi departments just because the faculty research really was a better fit. I'm hoping my research experience and GRE scores help assuage concerns about my quant abilities. I had one interview and they asked me if I was nervous about the quant requirements of an Epi PhD and I just answered honestly that while my qual skills are stronger I think I would be fine, so now just lots of waiting!

how about you, how did/are thing panning out for you?