Not to scare off potential applicants, but...

...are any of you August/September 2012 starters feeling like you're completely overwhelmed in your MA program so far? I'm in a stream where I take three courses a semester, which doesn't sound like a lot, but there's around 400 pages of reading a week, and I'm about to lose my mind, especially since, due to my poor eyesight, I'm limited to about 10 pages read an hour unless I want to suffer massive headaches that will make me stop reading for the entire day. And I have teaching responsibilities on top of that. Please tell me I'm not the only one living in constant anxiety!

*Disclaimer: English MA programs are still amazing. I love the one I'm in, just not adjusting too well.*

Hi AmandaC! I just wanted to tell you that you are not alone. I graduated with my MA in 2010, but I was miserable my first semester. I was plagued with imposture syndrome as I noticed how much smarter everyone else seemed to be, and I was drowning in reading that I hated. I even spoke to the Women's Studies department about the application process, and I had planned to apply to the WS MA program the next semester. I was certain that an MA in English was not the right road for me.

That was until I checked my grades a few weeks after my first semester ended. I got a 4.0. My scariest professor told me that my paper was the best from the class. I'm not sharing this to brag; I promise! But it was such a relief to realize that my self-doubt was based on my anxiety-- not my actual skill level. I stayed in my MA program, and I thrived. I found out later that EVERYONE felt the same way about the first semester, which is hilarious, because I thought that everyone else had such a firmer handle on the coursework than I did. But we were all lost!