Random Admissions Questions

blueberrymango

I am new to this process, and am curious to hear some answers from people who have gone through it/know more than me. How heavily is gpa considered? If my gpa is below their minimum, will they even consider my application? Also, does anyone know what schools are looking for in GRE scores? Only a few schools I am applying to even want it, but they don't list any idea of what the average score is.

One last question for now: if I think that my gpa will be better after this semester, does it make more sense to submit my applications asap and then send my Fall 2012 grades after they are ready in December, or is it better to wait to submit the applications with later deadlines until after my grades are in (and i hopefully will have a gpa closer to their requirements)?

Hope my questions made sense.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks so much!

I can help, perhaps!

1. GPA - they will consider you if your human services experience, letters of rec, and SoP are really impressive, I think it's always worth a try but definitely apply to reach and safety schools and everywhere in between.

2. GRE - Like you said, most MSW programs do not ask for GRE scores. If you get above average scores they are worth sending to schools who don't ask because of low gpa. I know Berkeley and UNC Chapel Hill are two schools that do require GRE scores, and from what I recall they want scores that are above average but don't have to be anything ridiculously high. I would just call the office of admissions for the particular programs and ask what their typical scores are.

3. My personal opinion is to submit your applications asap and then submit your transcript when it's ready. It is pretty doubtful they will reject you before you have a chance to turn in the transcript, seriously these programs can take forever.