Linguistics Work Load

phonology_rocks

To be clear I don't mean to say that ANY graduate program is easy, because I am sure they are not....

but my roommate (who may I add, is very nice) is in a professional terminal program (meaning can work with a good paying job after) and I am a linguistics MA student who like most people will be going back to school after finishing my current program....

Shes goes home every weekend to see her boyfriend which is only two hours away....she NEVER brings her text books.....

I do work NON stop, and I mean literally none stop. I go to class, am assisting a TA, leading a few other activities (all related to an RA position I will have next year and my current funding), work out (but we are talking like an hour a day or less) and study....

Granted I am really far away form my bf who will be here next year, but the point is, that is 11 months away.....Anyways I guess what I am saying is I am jealous.....a little because shes near hers, and I didn't have the choice to be near mine (and she talks about home and him 24/7 which isn't helping me miss mine any less oh and also they have been together for a few months vs. my two year relationship)....

anyways what more of the jealousy is her work...how the heck she can have more credits then me, and only do her homework 3 nights a week) she leaves fridays and comes back monday's....

But is working this hard normal? I am trying to do every reading, problem set, everything I really want to do well, but maybe I need to come up with a better system? my classmates don't get it because most of them are non native english speakers, and the only one I really have to compare too is my roomate so I figured it was worth asking the question to see your thoughts

There are relevant threads in the grads forums you should look up. Basically my two main thoughts are these: