GRE scores for Clinical/Community Psychology Ph.D.

caitlinalobdell

Hello,

I am concerned about my GRE scores. I received a 156 V, 154 Q, & 4.5 AWA. My undergrad GPA is a 3.5 with a Bachelor's of Science in Psychology from the University of Washington. I have extensive research experience at Seattle Children's Hospital (3 years) with 3 poster publications at ATA (American Telemedicine Association) and AACAP (American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry - 1 presentation) conferences and I am working on a paper to be published. I have a project coordinator/clinical research associate job where I gained experience consenting/assenting & interviewing.

I also volunteer at a 24-hour crisis telephone line once a week where I implement a crisis intervention to callers. I had past experience tutoring young refugee children.

I am looking into child clinical/community psychology ph.d. programs (University of Southern California, University of Virginia, University of Missouri, University of Washington, University of Connecticut, New York University.

Would it be worth it to re-take the GRE?

Thank you,

Caitlin

I would retake it if you can. The scores (mostly just the quant) seem a bit low to me. The rest of your application looks really strong. However, what if some profs don't even look at the rest of the app if the GRE scores don't meet a certain threshold? I think if you shot for 75th percentile-80th percentile quant you'd be all good. Just my hunch of course. I'm not sure how each program goes about evaluating applicants.

Good luck :)

I would retake it if you can. The scores (mostly just the quant) seem a bit low to me. The rest of your application looks really strong. However, what if some profs don't even look at the rest of the app if the GRE scores don't meet a certain threshold? I think if you shot for 75th percentile-80th percentile quant you'd be all good. Just my hunch of course. I'm not sure how each program goes about evaluating applicants.