past accepted Duke applicants

let.me.in!

I'm considering applying to Duke this Fall for the doctoral program and I wanted to see the characteristics of past applicants that got accepted. So if you were accepted in the past can you post :

• whether you were applying as an undergrad of graduate student
  • your GPA
  • your GRE score
  • how you constructed your statement of purpose
  • what did you use for your writing sample
  • what you think or know made them pick you

I'm really anxious about this and would love your guys advisement!take care!

you'll probably have a better chance of getting these questions answered by emailing current Duke grad students as most of the visitors on this forum are applying this year. There are a few who are already in programs, but if you really want these questions answered, I would find some duke grad students who line up with your interests and shoot them an email

Please don't do that. As a current graduate student, I can say I do periodically get an unpersonalized email from a prospective student (and it's always clear that it's unpersonalized, even with generic phrases like "your research interests seem fascinating") and they annoy me and they annoy my colleagues. If you do email people, email one or two current students who have research interests similar to yours. And don't just ask them how they got in, because why would they tell a stranger that? Ask them how the program is, who they work with, how it is for some one with your research interests, and maybe ask them what they think the program is looking for in someone with your research interests and more broadly. I know for example my department is more interested in "creative, imaginative" work than it is in work that fits squarely into mainstream sociology of X (we have very few people doing straight strat, race, or gender work here, for example). And I believe my adviser, more than others, cares about languages (none of her current students are monolingual, though