Non CS major applying to CS grad programs

jackdacker

Does anyone have any experience applying to CS grad school without undergraduate course work in Computer Science?

I majored in Business (Econ and Finance) as an Undergraduate.

I've worked for a couple years since college as both an IT consultant and web developer and recently decided that I'd like to look into Computer Science grad school.

I'm particularly interested to know whether it would be better to get a post-bacc in CS before applying to graduate schools, or whether I should look for programs that would be willing to take non-traditional applicants.

I'm still at an early stage of researching my options so any advice would be great.

• 4 weeks later...

Does anyone have any experience applying to CS grad school without undergraduate course work in Computer Science?

I majored in Business (Econ and Finance) as an Undergraduate.

I've worked for a couple years since college as both an IT consultant and web developer and recently decided that I'd like to look into Computer Science grad school.

I'm particularly interested to know whether it would be better to get a post-bacc in CS before applying to graduate schools, or whether I should look for programs that would be willing to take non-traditional applicants.

I'm still at an early stage of researching my options so any advice would be great.

1. IT is not Computer Science, though there is some overlap.

2. You need the following undergrad courses: discrete mathematics, digital logic / computer architecture, intro software engineering, and data structures / algorithms. Strongly recommend calculus too.

There are several Master's courses for people without a CS undergraduate degree, you might want to contact them and find out exactly what pre-requisite couses might be required.

E.g.

http://www.cc.gatech.edu/future/masters/mscs

http://www.cis.upenn.edu/grad/mcit/index.shtml

http://www.csd.cs.cmu.edu/education/master/index.html

• 1 month later...