How can I build a competitive application?

Hi Everyone,

I'd be really grateful if any of you could give me some advice on my situation. I graduated in '09 with a degree in Foreign Affairs. I got really frustrated when I couldn't find a job soon after I graduated, so I went abroad. I spent 2 years in Cairo teaching English and I'm now in my second year in Shanghai working as a homeroom teacher at an international school. Next month I'll have completed a distance certification program in K-6 education, but I think that was a mistake. Teaching the same things over and over again is making my brain leak out of my head and I can't do another year of it!

Everyone I've talked to has said that if I want to break into foreign affairs I have to go back to graduate school, but I don't think I'm a competitive candidate. I'd only want to go to a school in the D.C. area (most accessible to internships, and it's where I'd want to work), but all of the schools seem to look for candidates with relevant work experience. That's what I don't understand- if I had relevant work experience I wouldn't feel pressed to go to graduate school because I'd already have a job in the field I'm interested in!

So what can I do over the next 1-3 years to become a better candidate? I'm considering taking a year to do the Huayu Enrichment Program in Taiwan to become more proficient at Mandarin. I think it would be better to get some work experience, but where do I look for entry level jobs?

Thanks!

I'm not sure what schools you're looking at, but 2 years in Cairo and 2 in China at least give you significant experience living and working overseas. I would assume that to be relevant work experience. Just because you're not a foreign affairs analyst doesnt disqualify you.