Right fit schools? (IR/Conflict Processes)

cp12

Hey folks,

I'm rounding out my list and polishing off applications, and I wanted some non-professorial feedback on where I'm applying. I've focused on fit so far, and I'm being pretty aggressive as far as where I'm looking. I'm looking to go into conflict processes, especially researching irregular warfare, but am also interested in security studies, so my list has a couple security studies programs.

3.75/3.75 overall/major. I completed a joint bachelor's with a top 25 global university and a top 5 public research university in the States, majoring in political science with honors from both schools. I have a couple of highly competitive/unusual internships on my resume, collected data for and wrote a quanty honor's thesis (not related to IR), and worked almost full-time during most of my four years. I graduated in May and am working full-time.

GRE: 169V, 160Q, 5.5 AW. LORs: should be very solid, if not spectacular. Two are from rising stars in CP and the third is from my thesis director, a well-regarded quant researcher on American politics.

The list right now is:

Columbia

Emory

Iowa

Michigan

MIT

Princeton

UCSD

Vanderbilt

Yale

Any recommendations or opinions on how aggressive/conservative that list is? Any other programs I should be considering? I've heard PSU, OSU, Maryland, Rochester (probably too quanty), and FSU. It's not PhD or bust for me but any other good fit schools would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Edited by cp12

As a security studies person, you should look at Chicago, Georgetown, George Washington, and WashU. In addition, all of these places are very open to policy interests so that should be helful.