How much does GPA matter? Can research experience outweigh it?

robotsareourfuture

Hi,

I'm a sophomore electrical engineering student .

I go to school in Canada at McGill University. My GPA so far isn't the best, it's around 3.53 due to unfortunate results in some courses but I'm trying to get it higher. I am confident I can bring it up to a 3.7 in the next 2 years, but even if I don't, will that seriously affect my chances of getting into a school in the US? (Hoping for a UC or even better UT at Austin).

Im already trying to get some research experience this summer either funded or volunteering and I plan to continue doing that in the next summers.

I'm really worried though that universities in the states will not know how hard it is to get a good GPA at a school like mine compared to other schools that have grade inflation and will discriminate due to GPA.

Could research experience and letters of recommendation overshadow this? What is my chance of getting accepted right to PhD track and how hard is it to get funded if you dont have an excellent GPA? (like 3.8 and above).

Also what else can I do to make myself more competitive?

Thanks.

I think research experience is your best bet to make yourself more competitive, which you said you're already doing.

3.53 really isn't that bad, it certainly doesn't disqualify you from any schools, but it doesn't help at really well ranked ones either. Getting accepted on a PhD track is about a good fit, not really your GPA. Just continue to do your best, try to raise your grades, but realize that it's still very possible to get into great programs (like UT Austin) with what you have + research experience.

Thanks for the replies :) They gave me some confidence!