Phd in Computer Science at a different(better, maybe Top) school after Masters

cs85.amar

Hi Guys,

I am currently a second year Masters student(International) at a university ranked between 40 - 50(in the U.S) for it's Computer Science program. I will be graduating next semester and like most of the masters student I was planning to take up a job at a decent organization. But, since few days I have been thinking about pursuing Phd and I haven't been able to make up my mind.

My undergraduate GPA is average with no research experience. My GRE score is low 1200( old pattern). I have about 3 years of industry experience.

Now, here's the good part. I have worked hard in M.S and my Masters CGPA would most likely be around 3.8. I have worked on a couple of research projects and will most likely end up publishing one paper as first author and a second author on another one. (They have been submitted not accepted/published it, but I am confident)

Now, given my low GRE and not so great undergrad academics what chance do I stand for phd program at Top CS schools(Rank < 15) ? I can get a decent reco from my Prof. Would that be enough or I must work with some another prof to get another decent reco ?

Should I attempt GRE again ? That would be a pain, my god :(.

I can easily get in to the Phd program at my current university but it is my dream to make it to a Top CS program in the country.

What else do I need to do ? Comments and suggestions please

Thank you

Hey, sounds like you're in a pretty good spot already with a good masters GPA and research. I would say keep working hard on the research part, but make sure you get good recommendations from people other than just your adviser! You'll need 3 in total and you want them all to be good. After that, there's no guarantees you'll get into a top program, but that will improve your chances, so just shoot for the moon and hope for the best :)