UMass Amherst, Smith, etc: The Pioneer Valley/Western Mass

studyincontrast

Hello Anna,

I will be joining the Organismic and Evolutionary Biology program this fall, and am currently checking the craigslist on a regular basis for housing. Anyway, I am glad to see another person coming to Amherst.

guys, check out squire village. The prices are cheap and the location is not awful, although you'll need a car for groceries. You can get to school by bus though, that runs pretty frequently. I graduated from UMass last year, and no, I'm not affiliated with squire village apartments :)

Hi everybody!

My name is Anna and I was recently accepted to the English MA/PhD program at UMass Amherst. It looks like I'm probably going, since the department is wonderful and it's an excellent match. Anyone else doing grad work in the Pioneer Valley area/Western Mass?

Aw!! I LOVE the Pioneer Valley :) I'm finishing up my undergraduate degree at Mount Holyoke. PM me if you have any specific questions about the area. I will say that Northampton is one of my favourite places ever. I think Amherst can't hold a candle to it; however, the free bus system will take you to both places. :)

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
Does anyone who has funding at UMass know if their health insurance for grad students covers spouses?

I'm following you everywhere! I just visited UMass, and their health insurance does cover spouses and dependents. It's apparently really good insurance too. The UMass grad student union is very strong.

I'm following you everywhere! I just visited UMass, and their health insurance does cover spouses and dependents. It's apparently really good insurance too. The UMass grad student union is very strong.

You are like a one-person UMass cheering team!

BTW, I don't know what your living situation is, but we just looked online at an apartment that was in a pretty nice place, and for a decent price, but too small for us. If you want, I can send you the info.