Preparing for graduate school (Film Studies).

psyched_trojan2015

I know there are a lot of threads on these, but I'd rather not hijack one.

I'm currently a freshman, Critical Studies (Film Studies) student at USC and thinking ahead of my path post-grad. I'm currently interning with a film company right now and my experience hasn't been the best. This experience, however, has led me to another internship at a bigger film studio, so I explore the technical aspect of film post-production for Spring semester. Interning has led me to the conclusion that I'm much more geared toward the academic field of Film Studies, but I would love to research and work for a film advertising company, or possibly manage, teach & write.

If I do decide to go to grad school, I'd love to study in a program with a rigorous, philosophical approach to film, as opposed to the technical approach (like USC). I'm really interesting in pursuing the topics of queer cinema, composition, and industry business of film. I know University of Chicago, Columbia, and University of Wisconsin-Madison have some great film studies department. I know for sure I'd like to go to graduate school away from the west coast, since I was born and raised here (not in LA, but I'm familiar with Washington, Oregon and California). I think it would be enriching to explore the country and experience change for once. My first semester here at SC went well...not great, but good. I'm probably going to end up with a GPA of 3.3-3.5. I know I can do much better and get around a 3.7+. I'm still trying to balance internship, work-study, commuting, paying for my own rent/bills, etc. I'm confident I will do much better in the following years.