Competitiveness for Stats Grad (Ms or Phd?)

RandomWalk

Hi everyone, thanks for taking a look!

I am graduating this spring with the intentions of applying to Stats grad school next fall.

I am trying to figure out where I would be a competative applicant, and what I can do in the next year to increase the merits of my application.

Undergrad: UCLA

Degree: Major - Statistics

GPA: 3.65/4.00, Stat GPA : 3.91/4.00

GRE: 170Q, 159V

Research: I worked in a psychology research lab for two years. In the beginning I did normal psychology student activities, but eventually I did data analysis, programmed experimental conditions, and became lead research assitant in a lab of 25 students.

I currently work under a stats professor doing data collection, manipulation, and basic neural network analysis.

I have extensive knowledge in multiple data handling languages ( R, Stata, SAS, Spss), and recently won a data competition (not sure this matters).

LOR: I have two strong letters (One Stats professor and One very well known Psych professor) , and one decent letter.

My biggest fear is that my grades in the intro math classes may hurt me. I flopped around majors as a freshman and ended up with a B+ in multivariable 1 and a C in multivariable 2. Would getting a masters first help prove that I can handle the math load?

I have since done very well in other courses with more demanding math, but I think this could be considered a red flag.

I would not mind staying at UCLA, but I'm having a tough time figuring out a list of schools to apply to(Penn state, NCSU, UCDavis ?).

I know that places like Berkley and Stanford would be quite a strech, so a list of a decent schools would be helpful.

Also is there anything that would really help my application that I could do over the next year?

Thanks for taking the time to read this and any advice you can offer!