Do I have any realistic chance of getting into grad school?

chron

I am asking this because, quite frankly, my situation is a bad one, and probably worse than anyone else on this site. I have a Bachelor's in computer science, but that was a couple of years ago. I have not had success after graduation and I have been unemployed for the last few years, at least not meaningful employment. Therefore, it's practically impossible for me to get a meaningful job at this point, unless I go back to school. This is why I want to go to grad school - it's the last straw for me. If I can't get in, I would have to give up my career entirely and I'd have to start over again by doing another Bachelor's which has its own complications, and means I won't be able to have a career until I'm in my 30s. Either that or I resign to the fact that I'll never do better than a McJob for the rest of my life.

My marks aren't stellar but they're enough to meet a grad school's minimum requirements. I never did research as an undergrad - that's likely the key. I don't know if I have any chance of getting in if I don't have that. I did Co-op as a student, but that may not compensate for lack of research. Besides that and one brief job afterwards there is nothing I can mention. If grad schools take my resume gap into account just as employers do, then I'm done. I may have trouble finding references, but I'll assume for now I can find 2 profs and one past employer to write a letter of recommendation. I realize if they won't do that, then I'm done, I have no chance of getting in.