Economics Undergrad Requirements for IR Grad Programs

giants24601

Hi everyone,

I'm a current undergrad at American University in DC, and I'm applying to a bunch of schools for "security studies." I have decent stats - 3.9 GPA, perfect GRE verbal and analytic scores, 75th percentile GRE quant score - and my reccs/SOPs/work and internship experience are all solid, but there's one problem. Many of the top programs either flat-out require that applicants have taken macro and microeconomics in undergraduate school in order to be accepted (SAIS, the Elliot School) or state that having macro/micro is "highly recommended" (Fletcher).

Now, I love AU and it has some great professors and classes, but for some godforsaken reason, American University does not require political science majors (like myself) to take ANY econ to graduate, and as I am graduating a full year early with a major and minor, I never had room to squeeze econ into my schedule without totally derailing my early graduation train.

However, all of the schools which either explicitly or implicitly demand undergraduate econ (even SAIS and Elliot) state that sometimes, applicants who do not have the prerequisite econ course experience will be accepted anyway, on the condition that they take econ at the graduate school in question (or some other college, they don't really care) before starting in at the graduate program. Also, I HAVE in fact taken classes in economics - two classes with AU's economist-in-residence, for crying out loud, with an A (in a graduate-level class) and an A minus - but they were not called "macro/micro," in the course name or on the transcript, even though that is pretty much what they were.