Preparation for Macro Social Work

TheCrow

Happy Holidays! I'm a current sophomore--I was wondering what courses and experiences you might recommend as preparation for macro-level social work. Though I'm interested in macro-level social work rather than direct practice, are there courses I should take to prepare me for the courses that will focus on direct practice? I've only completed one course in psychology (child development) and plan to take one course in human biology.

Your general education requirements should help you prepare for or fulfill the foundation requirements for the MSW. If you want to concentrate in macro practice (working with communities, organizations, and social policy/advocacy), then I highly recommend electives in (American) history, ethnic/gender studies, sociology, political science, and/or public policy. Courses about race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, religion, community development, etc. usually suffice.  

Edited by michigan girl

Outside of coursework, I highly recommend volunteering for an advocacy organization or similar in your community. While textbooks and classes are phenomenal, learning "real work application" has been enormously useful and has only further cemented my passion for macro social work.

Edited by citychild

Does anyone have experience or knowledge on macro social work with the refugee populations? So I guess that would be administration/policy work with organizations that serve an international/multicultural/refugee population. 

Thanks for the suggestions, everyone.

The concern about experiences came up because most MSW programs emphasize "social work experience" (and recommendations from those supervisors) and I have a hard time conceptualizing what that looks like for macro-level work. For instance, I'm interning at the U.S. Department of Education right now developing outcomes assessments for federal grants to strengthen historically black colleges and universities and I'm not sure if that counts.