Inclusion and Social Work Programs

cheesecake

Hello all,

This is my first time posting here. I'm currently in a BSW program in Canada and I am interested in applying for my MSW in a couple of years. Through my BSW journey, I realized that diversity (gender, race, ability etc) in faculty and student body is really important for me but lacking in my current program. It's pretty white, hetero, middle-class. I sometimes find this frustrating as I find myself thinking that my program does not practice what it preaches nor does it make any seriouse commitments to systemic changes. 

I was wondering...

What kind of anti-oppression initiatives exist within your programs?

What programs have most *diversity* in their faculty/students?

Anything else? 

I have noticed similar in my BSW program and it irritates me so much. I have been on the receiving end of some rather homophobic remarks from professors in the social work department during a social work class. As a result, I am leaving my university to attend graduate school. A lot is the surrounding community as well... I have noticed my neighborhood (I live near the campus but not on campus) is largely white and lacks diversity as well.

I have noticed similar in my BSW program and it irritates me so much. I have been on the receiving end of some rather homophobic remarks from professors in the social work department during a social work class. As a result, I am leaving my university to attend graduate school. A lot is the surrounding community as well... I have noticed my neighborhood (I live near the campus but not on campus) is largely white and lacks diversity as well.