Generative syntax - please recommend books

stylz88

Hi :)  I'm an international student and I want to buy good resources (books) that I need for my linguistics. (PHD or Master level) 

I have studied linguistics in my undergraduate and have top marks in my school. But here for linguistics we mostly apply to English language and I think I need to catch up to American students who are already studied generative grammar. 

What books will you recommend (university level) that I can read before going to a U.S. program? On the topic of generative grammar, phonology and also syntax. I want something like a university/graduate level book. If there is a book that all undergraduate students already know and read (and always referring to in linguistic class), please let me know!!! so I will not be left-behind.  :blink:

I know professors will give me reading list when I start my graduate study but I want to start early. Electronic books are good but I can also order a physical book if I need. Thanks!!

As regards an introduction to generative syntax proper, I'm not sure if there is a consensus as to which textbook is best. There are a lot of them. Maybe someone else here has an opinion and can recommend one of them. Alternatively, I can send you some introductory resources for syntax such as survey papers and slides, if you want. Just PM me. It would probably be best that you come to understand the basics of syntax (phrase-structure and transformations) before covering the specific topics covered in the books below.

The following two books are able to be read without prior knowledge, but as both of these deal with topics that are somewhat semantic, they probably should be read after the reader already has an understanding of syntax more narrowly construed.

Binding Theory by Daniel Buering

Semantics in Generative Grammar by Heim & Kratzer