Low verbal score

bosbos1994

I graduated at stony brook university with a 3.64 GPA and i would like to apply for a master in civil engineering at some of the top engineering schools like NYU, columbia and UPenn. I worry so much about my GRE score ( Q: 163  V:150). Is my verbal score too low for all those prestigous schools?

you can send scores from one or the other (i think they let you choose for an extra fee  <_< ) but you cannot mix and match (e.g. say you got 600V, 700M the first time and 550V, 800M the second time, you couldn't send 600V, 800M). I think it might be free to send only the most recent score, but i'd have to check.

you can send scores from one or the other (i think they let you choose for an extra fee  <_< ) but you cannot mix and match (e.g. say you got 600V, 700M the first time and 550V, 800M the second time, you couldn't send 600V, 800M). I think it might be free to send only the most recent score, but i'd have to check.

There is no Extra Fee for choosing which score you want to be reported. You can chose either one or all of them and the price would be the same.

Regarding the thread question, whether the Verbal is important or not really depends on the school policy and on how much weight they put on Verbal section.

Generally schools look at you application as a whole and it's really hard to say how that verbal impact your application alone.

Edited by Radian

^this is correct. I had misinterpreted the email I received from ETS since I only ever took the GRE once. In any case for engineering, quant is obviously more important...for a master's program, a 163/150 shouldn't keep you out, but it won't get you in. Then again, a 168/168 might not get you in either. it'll just come down to whether or not the rest of the app is good.

Here is the relevant portion of the email I got last july: