How competitive am I for Chemistry Grad School?

nipwe

Hi All,

I am an international student, planning to apply for PhD program in Chemistry

GRE (Q 161/V 159/ 3.0) taken on 12/2012

TOEFL iBT 104(30/30/23/21) taken on 12/2012

I am planning to take both these tests again as my scores are not good enough. also planning for GRE subject 

GPA~3.2 but final year this is ~2 as I zeroed most of my exam papers sake of finishing my degree.

I do have an 1 year of research experience, 1 seminar presentation

I also have lots of volunteering , extracurricular experience   

My main research interests are in field of bioanalytical chemistry (bio mimetic senser development/molecular self-assemblies/supra-molecular  ) 

I am planing to apply following uni's 

University of Arizona, University of California- Berkeley ,Stanford ,University of California- Davis ,University of California- Irvine 

I know all these are top rank ones for Analytical chemistry  but I don't want to go to a medicore one.

I did poorly in my undergrad (specially in last few semester) as I was out of my studies for 2 year and then returned for my studies while working as a clinical research coordinator for four clinical studies and also as a chemistry tutor. All these due to fact that I am from a poor family in a rather under developed country, I  received government scholarship to study but  that was not enough.

At the moment I am in US with my wife who is a PhD student . I have very limited amount of money to spend on applications or any examinations as I am not allowed to work in US(F2 dependant). So I won't able to apply several time or lots of universities . I am  really grateful if you can give me any suggestions to improve my chance of acceptance and whether universities i am planning apply are too high to reach(Dream and reality ).

Thank you very much for your help in advanced 

Edited by nipwe

1. Have you checked the deadlines for those schools?