MS CS at Stanford chances

xGeek

Apologies if I am not adhering to board policies by posting this, I'm new here and saw many similar posts :)

I applied for the MS CS program at Stanford Fall 2013. I work full-time as a Software Engineer so I am looking to enroll in their Honors-Coop option.

My undergraduate GPA is very high (equivalent to 4.0/4.0) and I graduated first of my class but I am an international student and come from a rather unknown school. I took 4 graduate courses CS at Stanford as a non-degree student (1 A+, 2 A and 1 A-). 2 LoR from professors from my undergraduate college and 1 from my manager at work which should be good. 90% percentile in Quantitative GRE but mediocre/low scores for Verbal and AWR (English is not my first language...).

I have no research experience but about 2 years of industry experience at a major software company.

Thoughts? Waiting is making me anxious :)

Sounds like you have a good chance although I'm a bit wary about your GRE. I think Stanford gets a lot of applications and they themselves state on their FAQ site that a strong application for the MS would be in the 90th percentileshttp://cs.stanford.edu/content/faqs/#c6 - which I take to mean all sections of the GRE. 

The research experience shouldn't matter so much for the MS. Your GPA/class rank is favourable, albeit from an unknown school, and the fact that you've taken NDO graduate courses and done well is very good too because it shows that you can cope with the Stanford courses. 

I've applied there too - for the second time, and from what I can tell, it is something of a lottery because of the sheer volume of applications they get. So, try not to obsess too much about your application beforehand and not to put too much weight on the decision when it comes - whatever happens! (This is what I've been telling myself anyway!)