Fall 2013 Grad applicants in their 40's+ - Social Work

MSWgradcandidate

Hi Everyone,

I'm a mother of a young pre-school aged child, married and now ready to get back to school and fulfill my dream of achieving this degree. Just wondering if there is anybody else out there, mother or father, within this age-range who have applied to go back to school? Thought this would be a good forum to share the experience and information.

What schools have you applied to?

What questions to consider for the interview if you've already been on one?

How are you planning to handle financing for your education?

So I'll start:

I've applied to Hunter, NYU and Fordham. Waiting to hear..

As far as finances are concerned, will probably have to take loans out if I don't get anything from the FAFSA package that I filled out or from the schools themselves.

I graduated from Fordham undergrad in the mid 90's, had 3.2 GPA (wish I had prioritized better...hindsight....).

Been doing sales in the corporate world most of my career- have done some volunteer work over the years, but not on an "every day" basis.

Nervous and excited at the same time!

Hi Everyone,

Hi!

I'm a mother of a young pre-school aged child, married and now ready to get back to school and fulfill my dream of achieving this degree. Just wondering if there is anybody else out there, mother or father, within this age-range who have applied to go back to school? Thought this would be a good forum to share the experience and information.

I'm 36 and a father of two (4 and 2)

What schools have you applied to?

I didn't apply for Social Work (although that was my wife's major in undergrad!) but I basically applied to universities local to my job.

What questions to consider for the interview if you've already been on one?