Developing a research question?

ChildPsychEnthusiast

Hi everyone,

I am in a Mcnair program and I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to develop a thesis proposal. Specifically, I am focusing on ODD (Oppositional defiant disorder) for my capstone course and so I thought I could kill two birds with one stone and develop a proposal for Mcnair on the same subject. Usually a capstone lasts about two semesters so I am being indoctrinated slowly by my mentor (whom work focuses on child psychopathologies) ,I've pull a ton of research and am now focusing on what causes ODD within just its environmental risk factors.

But, Mcnair is going at much quicker pace and so I need to develop a research question and a problem statement soon in order to begin to develop my proposal. I've been reading all my research articles but I have yet to come up with a specific question.

This is my first time I've gotten into anything like the Mcnair program, so I want to do my best.

Does anyone have any advice or direction on where I should go or what I should be looking for when developing a research question?

Thank you for your time.

Look at the suggestions for future research in the discussion sections of relevant articles. See if you can think of a method for answering a question that other researchers in the field have identified as being important.