Carnegie Mellon 2013

BuckyandTerraceChairs

Going to Heinz for public policy. Planning to be at the visit weekend in April. Looking to have apartment showings lined up when I come into town. Interested in finding another Heinz classmate to live with and in a position to sign a lease that weekend in April. Looking for probably only one person for a 2 bedroom place. Looking around Squirrel Hill. 29 yr old female. Fine with either male or female roomate. Cheers!

Wow, you're way more on top of things than I am. I'm 99% certain I'll be coming to CMU for civil engineering, and I'll be visiting in a couple of weeks, but I haven't even started thinking about where to live. I've got a partner, toddler, and dog, so we may be looking to just buy a house, given what appear to be really low prices in Pittsburgh. I know absolutely zero about the area, though, so if anyone out there wants to weigh in with advice, feel free!

Welcome to both of you!  I'm in my second year of a joint Econ/Pub Pol PhD at CMU (Tepper & Heinz).  Pittsburgh is a great city--some of the cosmopolitan nature of bigger cities without the higher pricetag!  I believe the Heinz Master's Facebook page has some sort of a roommate request board, so I'd suggest looking there.  You want to have a rental secured by May, or else the good bargains will be gone.  Also, STAY AWAY from Lobos (you'll see pink signs).  My landlord is CJ Greve and they're excellent.  I've heard mixed things about Mozart as well. If you haven't had a shared apartment before, make sure when you're negotiating your lease that your payments are independent; i.e., you can't be evicted for your roommate's failure to pay.