Music Science and Technology (Stan)

netp

Hey everyone,

I am an international engineering student from India and have always been interested in Music. Through my undergrad studies I have had loads of opportunities to taste research in Signal Processing and Acoustics delving into the field of Music/Speech Processing. Simultaneously learning Music I applied into my dream program of Masters in Music Science and Technology at Stanford, under the CCRMA (Computer Center for Research in Music and Acoustics).

I have recently received my dream admit and am overjoyed!

I was just wondering if there is anybody else like me into Music Technology, or even someone admitted into the same program?

PS: Sorry if this is the wrong place for me to be posting this. 

Hi netp,

I'm currently waiting for acceptance/rejection to a few graduate programs in music composition. One of my main interests in composition is instrumental timbre, and I've done some preliminary, yet extensive, research on the topic. Mostly, I have gone through the history of digital analysis of sound: from John Grey, all that FFT nonsense, and beyond. I eventually stumbled upon an article where researches were trying to create a new, better, and complicated system/logarithm that takes into account the physiology of the human ear, as well as cognition, to provide a more accurate analysis of timbre.