Letter from Chair

Pino5

I'm working on my PhD application and have an LOR question.

I'm currently a lecturer in the department where I received my MA several years ago. I'm thinking of asking the former chair of the department who hired me when he was still chair. He was my direct supervisor and was a great mentor to me.

He is willing to write a recommendation, but unfortunately, I have not taken a single class under him. I feel he can write a strong recommendation with regards to my teaching experience/skills, but of course, would probably not be able to comment on my academic aptitude as a student, etc. So...

How do you think would this letter be considered by adcomms? OR should I just ask another faculty who knows me academically but is less enthusiastic about it (because she is busy)? On a side note, my former chair is willing to write >10 rec letters, the other faculty would probably only write 5-6.

Thanks!

Letters of recommendation don't have to come from people who know you as a student... they can be from anyone at the university who knows you well! A good policy is to pick a group of letter writers who can speak to your different strengths. I chose one who knew me as a researcher (my undergrad research advisor), one who knew me as a student (I took 5 classes with him), and one who knew me as a TA. Each one was able to write about a slightly different aspect of me, and I think that it did strengthen my application.

The department chair seems to know you well (having directly mentored you) and can likely say many good things about you that the adcom will want to hear. For instance, he can write about all of the things that made you a good teacher (e.g. you're dedicated, good at communicating ideas, etc.), which are qualities that a good PhD student/researcher should also have.