University of British Columbia (Fall 2013)

gnmcclur

Was recently admitted to the M.A. English Literature program at UBC, and was wondering who else had been admitted as a grad student during this admissions cycle. I'm definitely going to attend since their offer of funding was enough to help out a great deal with my living expenses. Has anyone else considered where they might live in Vancouver? I'm trying to scout out good apartments with fair prices (which, I'm assuming, would be around $1000/month, considering it's an urban location), and I'm hoping to find something in the Downtown area. The campus looks absolutely lovely and I'm really excited to be able to go, especially since I'm an international student from the US, and this particular school is a good choice for English literature.

Who else is excited? And are any of the accepted individuals from Canada, and can perhaps give some good advice to international students on living in Vancouver?

Edited by gnmcclur

• 2 weeks later...

Hey there! I'm also headed off to UBC in the fall and I'm quite excited! They were also very generous with my funding offer -- it makes living in one of the (allegedly) more expensive cities much easier.

I've never lived in Vancouver myself, but I'm Canadian (lived mostly in the Eastern part of Canada). I'm looking at housing on campus for the moment--hoping to avoid the whole looking for a place remotely problem, but honestly I'm just happy to be going to UBC. It looks like a gorgeous campus and a beautiful city.

If you have any questions about Canada, I can probably answer those, but probably not so much about Vancouver....

Edited by quilledink