How to prepare for PhD with little background

cogneuropsy

I graduated with a degree in communications a few years ago and recently became more interested in studying psychology. I have become familiar with the literature in a few particular areas of interest (mostly within cognitive psychology) and started taking classes at a nearby university. I'm working towards building a stronger application for a PhD program.

How many courses should I take? I have seen some programs specify the amount of coursework required for students from non-psych backgrounds though many do not.

What is a good way to get research experience for someone like me (already graduated, working in an unrelated field)?

Any other advice? Thanks!

I took night classes: Developmental Psych, Abnormal Psych, General Psych if you haven't already, Cognitive Psychology, etc. - the more, the better, and preferably at grad-level. You can also volunteer in a lab nearby at nights and weekends (I did when I worked FT). 

You might want to also consider a MS program- I found it very useful for me, for many different reasons.

take a stats class and an experimental class to show your chops, take a developmental course, a social course, and an abnormal psych course to learn the landscape.  these courses form the backbone of any masters program and will show up on your transcript as a really well developed and prepped non-psych major path.  they will also prepare you really well for the psych gres.  also, yeah just like the gal above said, work in a research lab and get some experience that way.  

Many of the programs I looked at require a minor's worth of classes (15-18 credits). Absolutely take a research methods/experimental class, and a stats class. Beyond that, check what your local university considers "core" classes for a psych major, and consider taking those.