WashU vs. Wisconsin vs. UCLA vs. Duke

battleidiot

Here are the pros and cons for each school in order of their current preference.

I want to focus on Tissue Engineering and Biomaterials research but am flexible at this point. (most schools require lab rotations anyways) 

I graduated last spring from UCSD and will be attending graduate school late summer or fall of this year. 

1. Washington University in St. Louis (Program: Biomedical Engineering, PhD)

Pros

-fully funded, 28K/year, liked the campus, found a professor that fits my interest, great med school, low cost of living

Cons

-BME not as highly ranked, location, weather (too hot?), academic rigor, might get boring? 

2. University of Wisconsin, Madison (Program: Biomedical Engineering, PhD)

Pros

-fully funded, 21K/year, lot of professors that fit my research interests. 

Cons

-location, weather (too cold?), was unable to visit the campus due to scheduling conflicts. 

3. University of California, Los Angeles (Program: ACCESS Biomedical Science, PhD)

Pros

-fully funded, 30K/year, location, weather, close to home (Norcal)

Cons

-Rather be in engineering, professors don't seem as caring, rigid job outlook, high cost of living 

4. Duke University (Program: Biomedical Engineering, MS)

Pros

-High prestige and ranking, fits my research interests, close to girlfriend (East Coast)

Cons

-High cost (>40,000 year), I visited and each professor told me to go somewhere else that is funded 

5. Case Western Reserve University (Program: Biomedical Engineering, PhD)

-Not actually accepted, just got an email from a professor regarding an open position in his lab, don't know what to think at this point... 

Sounds to me like WashU is your best bet, Battleidiot-