MA Program Comparisons

Apologies for starting a new thread. I couldn't quite find a thread that deals specifically with MA programs.

I have two California schools to consider now, which brings up a whole new set of anxieties. If anyone could contribute, I would be grateful:

- How do I find out about the respective "reputations" for those schools? Most graduate ranking sites tend to be for PhD programs and/or not for English programs.

- On that note, how does one assess "reputations" of schools anyway?

- Are there any good resources for MA program placements? Calstate LA lists some places where their graduates teach or go onto PhD programs but I can't find much on Loyola Marymount

ETA: Is it even kosher to ask about comparisons of two schools like this? I'm kind of new to this... especially US/California rankings because I'm Canadian!

Anyone who is or was at Calstate LA or Loyola Marymount want to share his or her experiences? Thanks in advance!

Edited by 1Q84

Ah good idea... but I forgot to mention, however, that I'll be an international student (I'm from Toronto) so my recommenders had "heard" of the schools but don't know much about them.

It is perfectly acceptable to ask the departments for information about their placement numbers into PhD programs. You could also ask about what resources they have available for MA students who want to prepare for PhD programs and applications (for example, conference workshops, mock conferences, student publications, travel funding, etc).