master's before phd?

viget

Hi y'all,

I've been lurking on the gradchat forums for months but finally broke down and created an account. A little bit about me - I'm a recent graduate with about 1.5 years of real world work experience, and I applied and was accepted to a great master's program in higher education administration for this upcoming fall. When I applied for the program, I didn't feel like I was a strong enough applicant to go for doctoral programs. Over the past couple of months, however, I've had a lot of time to focus my research interests, which has made me more sure of the fact that I want to pursue a doctorate, and more uneasy about whether doing the master's program is the right choice.

As I see it, the benefits of doing the master's are as follows:

- more higher ed experience / knowledge

- opportunities to get recommendation letters from professors in the field (possibly important since my undergrad major wasn't education?)

- more guidance on applying to phd programs

- the amazing alumni network from the master's program

The most obvious downside is the cost, although there may be other negatives I'm not considering. The program is expensive, but fortunately, I wouldn't need to take out loans. I would be taking a significant chunk out of my savings, though.

Anyway, I'd be really grateful for any thoughts/advice/feedback from current grad students or anyone who's faced about a similar dilemma!

Welcome!