Advice for narrowing focus in biostatistics

mispix

Hello!  I am new to this forum and am hoping to get some advice about narrowing my focus to find a  biostatistics program.

For some background: I am interested in studying biostatistics and will be applying to grad programs this fall.  I majored in math and graduated in 2011 with a 3.9.  

I've decided to study biostatistics because I am interested in applying math to real world problems, and am especially interested in the medical applications.  For this reason, I have also considered epidemiology, but at the moment I am leaning toward biostatistics.  

Another reason biostatistics interests me is the wide range of fields/medical problems it applies so in the long run I will not  be confined to a very narrow field.  At the same time, as I begin to research which schools I will apply to, I am having trouble deciding where to look because I do not have a focus.

I am looking for advice on how others may have chosen a program or, in general, if there are resources which can help me find current topics in biostatistics which I may be interested in.  I have tried, for example, to look at research papers online, but I get overwhelmed by terminology and concepts I do not understand.  

Also, if anyone has advice on programs/internships/jobs which last a year (from August 2013 until I would start grad school in 2014) and are related to the field of biostatistics, I would greatly appreciate any information.  I am finishing a job in Europe in July and would love an opportunity which gives me an idea of the type of work I may do in the future.  

Whenever I give talks about biostat as a field/profession, I start with John Tukey's quote that "the best thing about being a (bio)statistician is that you get to play in everyone's backyard." So, I think you've got the right attitude towards the field!