MA/PhD in Art History or MA in Museum Studies

melmar838

Hello - I'm trying to chart my next steps as far as grad schools.  Currently, I'm in my final year of school in Library Science, and I had hopes of working in a museum or cultural institution as a librarian.  I am finding however that I'm not into the technical end of things, and I feel more and more that I want to return to my art roots, and am considering either a grad degree in Art History or Museum Studies.  Do any of you have experience advice on choosing between the two?  What degrees are more helpful when applying for museum jobs.  I'm not sure I want to be a curator.  I also wouldn't mind teaching at say the community college level.  Any thoughts?

Thanks!

MA in Museum Studies would be more helpful if you want to go into museum jobs. But increasingly, they are asking for a PhD qualification. So, perhaps you can go for a PhD in Art History and take some courses from the Museum Studies Department.

Alternatively, you can register for a PhD that allows you a Curatorial or Art Conservation track such as at Delaware or a Cultural Studies PhD that allows a Museum Studies concentration - such as at Claremont University.

PhD in Museology is more popular in the UK than in the US and UK has several Museology PhD programs, but I don't know how they stand in the US Museums job market.

If you have time, you can also get an MA in Museum Studies followed by a PhD in Art History. 

Hello there!

Given my screen name, I couldn't help, but be compelled to write :-)