University of Toronto: Classics PhD

DevDoc82

I am currently a MA Classics student looking to pursue a PhD in the field. I must say, however, that the University of Toronto's Collaborative Program in Ancient and Medieval Philosophy is my ultimate goal. My reason for posting on this forum is to ask for some advise on few things. 

I focused my undergraduate degree in Middle Eastern Studies/Arabic, where I procure advanced speaking and reading skills. This background has facilitated my interest in Medieval Islamic Philosophy. The more I read Averroes, Al-Ghazli, and Al-Farrabi, the more I am inclined to spend the rest o my life researching the fields. I am desirous to know what the admissions committee is looking for in terms of an applicant applying to this school. At the moment, I have 5 years of Arabic, 3 years of Latin, and I am just starting to undertake the acquisition of Greek. I am willing to prepare as much as possible to obtain admissions. 

Also, I desire to set myself apart from the rest. So, does anyone think that a CASA Fellowship in Arabic will help in convincing the admissions committee at Toronto? This fellowship will take advanced speakers and reader to superior levels.

Please respond. Any feedback is great!

Thanks!

Ahlan wa sahlan! It's quite impressive that you're reading Muslim classical philosophers... after four years of Arabic, I can barely read the Qur'an. I would say the next step you take will depend on what, exactly, you want to study. If you'll be studying the Greek roots of Islamic philosophy, then I would say you should focus on learning Greek (maybe get a postbacc), since your Arabic is already advanced. I'm not sure how helpful going to Cairo would be. I understand that those programs are aimed more at improving your speaking, not your reading, skills. Reading skills are obviously more helpful for a graduate program.

Again, I'm not quite sure what you want to do, but you might also take a look at Yale's Graeco-Arabic program.