Biochemistry going on Inorganic or Physical Chemistry

bunninies

Hi,

I'm going to be doing a summer and a year's worth of biochemistry research during my senior year. However, for chemistry graduate school I would actually like to join an inorganic or physical chemistry lab..

I'm wondering if this would be a disadvantage to top programs or even decent ones.

I'm just worried that because I have no research experience in synthetic lab (other than lab courses), the admins will not want to take me in.

I attend a small LAC and expect good LOTRs.

I don't plan on entering grad school right after undergrad, because I have to make MONEY for my family! (in biotech, hopefully)

The problem is that I've been wanting to go to vet school which looks at biology-related research favorably, so I kind of botched things up.

My advisor and inorganic professor say whatever you research in undergrad doesn't really matter as long as you did research. But this worries me because biochemistry uses very different techniques and solvents from organic/inorganic.

With that said, could I be accepted into programs like Cornell or Columbia or UNC? Probably not Berkeley or MIT?

Edited by bunninies

I'd advise trying to get some experience in an inorganic/physical lab before applying to grad school, even if it's just a couple of months over the summer after you graduate helping out at your undergrad institution. 

When it comes to reviewing your application, the Admissions Committees will wonder why want to switch from Biochem to Inorg/Physical. If you don't have any Inorg/Physical research experience they will question (a) how serious you are about researching in that discipline/doing a PhD in general (B) if you know what you're letting yourself in for!