MS Industrial Engineering Decision

illousion

Hi everyone,

I am an international student and have been admitted to the following MS industrial engineering programs

University of Texas Dallas (MS Supply Chain)

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Oregon State University

Arizona State University

University of Houston

I am thinking finding jobs in the field of operations research or supply chain analysis, could anyone give me some insights and comments? Thanks.

First question: do you have funding at any school?

I will assume no funding... I might be somewhat biased considering I am going there for my PhD, but I would say ASU would be your best bet. They are definitely the best of the IE programs and are top notch in applied OR (e.g. in logistics, SCM, & healthcare). Additionally, I think an MS in IE might hold more weight, especially for technical positions, than a master's in SCM. ASU also has one of the best SCM departments of any business school where you can get a dual degree in IE and an MBA. See http://wpcarey.asu.edu/mba/online/academics/mba-mse-ie.cfm for more details. That might be an option for you as well. Or you could probably at least take a few MBA level SCM courses while doing your MS in IE.

Edited by efh0888

First question: do you have funding at any school?