PhD in Sociology in the US without GRE

Werner

Hi!

I am a German student, graduating this July, and I'm considering a PhD in the US. As this is the first time, I'm thinking about the US as a possible location, I came across this GRE exam, which obviously contains a lot of Math. 

Now, I am a straight A student, and I'll graduate with summa cum laude (cultural sciences), but I am very close to a retard concerning Math (in Europe, social or cultural MA programs usually don't contain statistics, and you don't necessarily have to take your final exams in Math at high school to get your high school diploma, and to be honest, I don't know much about the American education system). So my question is: Does anyone know a university in the US where you can get around this GRE, or should I better bury my PhD plans for the US? :)

Thanks in advance!

Sorry, but there's no escaping it. You need to take the GRE. However--and I say this as a fellow mathematically challenged person--the GRE is very learnable. The math section is below college-level, and mostly just relies on mastering a few simple tricks. If you put a couple of months of study into the GRE, you'll do fine.

Define "mathematically challenged"... I'm having problems adding up my groceries without a calculator while shopping... I've read that NYU doesn't automatically disqualify you, if you do bad at the GRE. I hope that when I'm doing good at the other parts, they'll somehow excuse my complete failure at Math. Looks like, I have to go through this and just try.

Edited by Werner

As a fellow European who had no idea about the GRE and had never done standardized tests before; do not quit before you start.

If you are a straight A student in the german system then you should be able to hone your math skills to the level where you pass minimum requirements and then some.   Just do your best on the GRE and work on perfecting all the other things (such as finding good recommendations who are well-known in the U.S.)