PhD Funding in Canada

deconstructing

Sorry for a potentially dumb thread, but I was wondering about scholarship/fellowship/assistantship situation for PhD students in Canada. I know US universities offer plenty of opportunities for this type of PhD funding, but I can't seem to find anything conclusive about Canada (save for the Vanier scholarship, but it's very prestigious and I don't even dream to reach that high... or maybe I should?)

I am a prospective international student interested in humanities and social sciences. I'm particularly interested in the University of Alberta. 

Once again, I am sorry for this basic question but I can't seem to find any solid info on this. Are TA practiced in Canada and how does this reflect tuition fees and living costs (is it possible to pay for both with your TA or a scholarship)?

I think you'll find that programs offer funding that's comparable to similar American universities, though it's weird you can't find the information online. For example, my university in psychology offers a minimum of $24k/year in internal funding, from which one pays $7k/year tuition. For that you TA 10 hours per week, the rest is scholarship money. If you have an external award you get more money and a reduced TA load. Something to keep in mind is that the stipend might look slightly higher but you'll probably have to pay tuition which, thankfully, is much less than American tuition because it's heavily subsidized by the government.

There are other scholarships from SSHRC and provincial agencies (like the Ontario Graduate Scholarship) but they might be limited to Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

Many offers of admissions to programs are accompanied by full funding (though there are some MA programs, I can think of 4 at U of T, that are getting "Americanized" and not offering funding, which is pretty dire when having an MA in hand is not optional for PhD admission like it is in the states).