How "Personal" should the SOP be?

Hi Ya'll, 

I'm just curious what type of personal information you're including in your personal statements. I've heard that saying something like the following is a bad idea: "I've been passionate about reading ever since I was a little kid. I used to hide under the covers with a flashlight and read  through the night." Obviously this is too cutesy and not necessary because, of course, if you're applying for a PhD in English you better love to read. 

So what should we say about our "journeys" then? I guess I'm just curious about including a discussion of race or not. I think it fits with what I'm studying and it is personal to me. Basically, I am studying constructions of masculinity in the Victorian period and I'm interested in constructions that are marginalized. In the past, I've taken classes on topics of nationality, eugenics, race, and gender and how all of these categories have ideal constructions within them (i.e one race is better than another, one nationality reigns supreme, etc). (this is obviously a very general description of my interests, so I hope this makes sense). 

So, basically, I was thinking about one of the reasons I got interested in this topic and it's because of my background. At least once a month someone (strangers usually) ask me if I'm black. I'm not. This question always bothered me because it made me feel like they were trying to "figure me out" or trying to put me into a box. It didn't matter what my answer was as long as I satisfied their anxieties about my race. It's a really weird experience--to live your life thinking you look white, but to constantly be asked if you're black. Basically, this made me what to research other constructions that are marginalized or are made to fit into a box--or more generally, to research what the "boundaries" are and how they've shifted depending on the time period and the location. Make sense?