MA in Psychology and Education at Columbia or MA in Psychological Research at a State University

bri_90

Hey everyone!

I am having a difficult time deciding which MA program is best for me to become a competitive applicant for a PhD program. I had already accepted an offer at a state university in Texas to pursue a MA in psychological research. However, Columbia sent me an email at the end of June with my acceptance into the MA in Psychology and Education Program (Clinical Psychology). Now I am rethinking everything. In the past two years, I have applied to PhD programs but have been rejected and have been told competition is high for the top Clinical Psychology programs in the US. However, having a masters may help me. I graduated with a BA in Psychology and I am part of the McNair Scholar Program. I also have extensive research experience, along with a substantial amount of clinical experience.  Based on what I have read on each program these are my pros and cons for each school: