Seeking Advice for Classical Greece Art & Archaeology Programs....with just a hint of Italian Renaissance

LorenzoilMagnifico

Hello all! I am an undergrad senior currently looking around for potential MA or PhD programs to apply to for the Fall 2014 school year, in the areas of Classical Art and Archaeology (mostly pertaining to Classical Greece and the Ancient Aegean), or Italian Renaissance/Mannerism. Ideally, I would love to end up in Johns Hopkins' Classical Art and Archaeology PhD program, but I was wondering if anyone had any ideas of schools that are strong in both Italian and Ancient Greek art history, and any professors that make these schools particularly worthwhile.

Thanks for any advice you can send my way, as it will help this rather overwhelming search!

tumblr_m7uahbeh1f1rzhv5ho1_250.gif

• 2 weeks later...

You will need to narrow your focus A LOT by choosing one area over the other. The span of time and language between these two subjects makes it impossible to study both. One option you might look into though would be to combine your interests and look at something along the lines of "survival of greek antiquity in the Renaissance" (or similar..).  

You will need to narrow your focus A LOT by choosing one area over the other. The span of time and language between these two subjects makes it impossible to study both. One option you might look into though would be to combine your interests and look at something along the lines of "survival of greek antiquity in the Renaissance" (or similar..).  

There's no reason this person couldn't do a secondary field in Italian Renaissance with a major field in Ancient Greece. In fact, I think those two fields go nicely together. "Lorenzo" is not saying, as far as I can tell, that he wants specialize in BOTH! But it's true, Lorenzo--if you want to study Classical art, pick a school that's strong in that area--they're rare enough--and then think about your options for doing some work in the Renaissance.