Masters degree in Linguistics at Seoul National University

PNWtoSK

I'm an English teacher at an academy in Korea, and I recently had the idea of getting a linguistics degree to both further my resume in my ability to see the world while teaching English, and to have something more substantial than just a few years at a hagwon to settle down with when I decide to settle down.

I did a little research on linguistics masters programs, and was surprised to find that Seoul National University is ranked around the 37th best in the world (and for a very cheap cost even before scholarships to international students), but I haven't been able to find anything on its reputation or any specializations. Does anyone know what the university is known for?

I'm especially interested as there seems to be a scholarship available here in Korea where they pay for you to study Korean for a year and then pay for 2 years of your degree. Although that would make any Korean content manageable, I hear the classes are in English anyway. The idea of getting more out of my time here (or in any other country I live in) than just a few years teaching experience--say, a fluency or near-fluency in the native language, and/or a reputable graduate degree--is one that is very attractive to me.

I have a BA in Political Science from a tier 1 University, will have at least 2 years of EFL experience by the time I apply anywhere, and a CELTA. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Guest Gnome Chomsky

You might want to look into true linguistics degrees versus other degrees such as foreign languages and TESOL. Many people think linguistics is nothing but studying and teaching languages but that's not really the case at all. You should really know exactly what linguistics is before jumping into a career in it.