Biostat PhD profile eval

DevinC

Hello all,

I am currently a biomedical engineering student at Penn State and I would like to pursue a PhD in biostatistics. It will be great if any of you can give me some feedback from my info. 

Undergraduate

Major : Biomedical engineering (Have taken several math intensive courses)

GPA: 4.0

GRE scores: I will be taking it in few weeks and I am giving my score range from reliable practice tests:Quant - 162-168 , Verbal - 155-160

Research experience : I have done research in biomedical engineering department for the past two years (this research is mainly on epidemiology and computational biology). Also this summer I am doing biostatistics research at Ohio State.

LOR: I will be able to obtain two letters of recommendation from professors I have conducted research with at Penn State and one from my summer research professor at Ohio state.

I also have some leadership roles in student organizations (if that is relevant at all !)

I am planning to apply for PhD program at the following institutions : Harvard, John Hopkins, University of Minnesota, Boston University, Emory University, University of Pittsburgh, Ohio State and University of Buffalo.

I also have a question whether my major in biomedical engineering will hurt my application ( Although most of the research I have done and courses I have taken are related to the field of biostatistics) and how much does my undergrad institution play a role in admission into grad program?

Thank you

To get a better sense of your chances, we'll need to know:

1) Whether you're a U.S. citizen/permanent resident or not

2) The (approximate) strength/reputation of your undergraduate institution

3) Which math/stat courses you've taken

Your profile as stated seems fairly strong, but the above details could make the difference between you having a decent chance of getting into the top places you applied, and struggling to crack some of the mid-range places on your list.

Hey Devin,