Do I need more research experience in my field or do I just need research experience when I apply to graduate school?

Background: I'm a senior at a sister school of University of Texas at Austin. I'm majoring in biochemistry, and I want to eventually do cancer research (most specifically, understand biochemical mechanisms related to cancer or cancer drug development/characterization). I've attempted to do research my freshman and sophomore years, but both failed... I got nothing out of it. My junior summer, I was accepted into the McNair Scholars program (which is for underrepresented and/or low income students). I conducted bioengineering research all summer, wrote a research paper, had my research published in my school's McNair Research Journal, and presented in front of faculty members. I will be going to 2 conferences in the fall to present my research. My GPA is a 3.80. I have teaching experience and received a handful of accolades.

Problems:
1. I have NO biochemistry research background, but I want to get a biochemistry Ph.D. or maybe a pharmaceutical science Ph.D.  I know a professor at my school who did his undergraduate research in physical chemistry, but ended up with a Ph.D. in organic chemistry. So maybe I am okay?

2. I only have 1 summer of real research, but in bioengineering. 

Questions:
Should I switch to a biochemistry lab my senior year even though I have established good relationships in my bioengineering lab? I've talked to my mentor about this and he said it's up to me.

Do I even have a chance of getting into biochemistry/pharmaceutical Ph.D. programs ranked +10?
Such as
UC Boulder, UW in Seattle, and UT Austin (dream school)

Please let me know what y'all think! It would really help. :)

I would say, in general, bioengineering is fine. Depends on exactly what area, but most of the work should be translatable.